Home » News

Prep wrestling: Delta claims Class 3A title

Published February 20, 2012 12:38 am

3A wrestling • Team holds off challenging Payson with two key individual wins.
This is an archived article that was published on sltrib.com in 2012, and information in the article may be outdated. It is provided only for personal research purposes and may not be reprinted.

Orem • Delta wrestling coach Josh Wright figured the team title was locked up entering the championship matches of Saturday's 3A tournament, but the Payson Lions who fought valiantly during Saturday's consolation rounds still had a pulse, trailing 218-199.5.

Delta senior Kohl Tolbert slammed the Lions' door shut when he captured his first state title, winning the 106-pound division with a 4-1 win over Desert Hills' Joe Mondragon.

"I just tried to get the first takedown," said Tolbert. "It's pretty great to hear our crowd and just feel all the tradition."

Delta's only other title came at 182 pounds, in which Ryan Petersen defeated Will Elder of Wasatch, 11-8.

Wright said the fourth consecutive title comes with plenty of meaning attached.

"This one is special because we had some pretty good 4A teams move down and our guys worked hard and came through the back door to earn it," he said.

Dusty Hone of Cedar City won at 113 and Spanish Fork's Branson Ashworth at 120 before everyone dialed in to watch Mitch Brown vs. Morgan Sweat.

Brown, who was going for a fourth straight title, and Sweat were tied at four entering the final period, but Sweat got a reversal and caught Brown in an awkward hold, got back points and ultimately won the match 9-5 for his second title at Wasatch.

"I beat him my sophomore year, so I felt pretty confident," said Sweat.

Payson came back with championships from Jed Mellen and Zac Loveless. They actually closed the team score to 222-215, but the team officially relegated to second place when Cole Ford picked up his first state title but failed to get a pin.

"Ever since I've been a little kid I wanted to win state, so I kept pushing and figured it would eventually pay off," said Ford.

Hurricane picked up a pair of titles with Zack Prince (152) and Brian Scott (220). Uintah's Chet Boren won at 160, Tooele's Zack Coffman at 170, Cedar City's Cameron Williamson at 195 and Desert Hills' Kalob Stevenson at 285.