Salty Cricket Composers Collective to perform “Plethora of Pierrot” Wednesday
Published: December 12, 2011 12:32PM
Updated: December 12, 2011 12:32PM

The Salty Cricket Composers Collective (SC3), a relatively new music ensemble that solely performs the works of composers currently living in Utah, will perform its “Plethora of Pierrot” Concert on Wednesday, December 14 at 7:30 p.m in Dumke Recital Hall at the University of Utah.

Tickets are $15. Student tickets are $10. Tickets can be purchased in person at the concert in advance by calling (801) 652-0737 or at

The concert is programed for Pierrot Ensemble, which is an eclectic grouping of instruments pioneered by Arnold Schoeberg in his landmark work, Pierrot Lunaire. The ensemble -- consisting of violin, flute, clarinet, cello, and piano — is now standard in the music composition world. Salty Cricket offered Utah composers the option to add voice and percussion to their instrument options.

Performers include Alex Martin on violin (of Utah Symphony), Lisa Byrnes on flute (of Utah Symphony), Nick Morandi on clarinet, Walter Haman on cello (of Utah Symphony), Kristofer Michaels on piano, and Bailey Steward on percussion. The evening will be conducted by Stephen Voorhees and Crystal Young-Otterstrom will appear as soprano on two works.

The concert will feature (in performance order):

John Newman: Caprice Atomique
Randin Graves: Big Brother
Joey Calkins: Three Emily Dickinson Pieces, Op. 3
George Marie: Recursions (Movement I: Upward Spirals)
Scott Wasilewski: we had no choice but to destroy
Christian Asplund: Extracts from The Fall of the House of Usher
Joseph Sowa: Clarinet Sonata
Michael Hicks: The Empress of Japan
Nicki Singleton: le sinistre manoir
Igor Iachimciuc: It Should Be