Education - The Salt Lake Tribune Stories from The Salt Lake Tribune en-us (Webmaster) <![CDATA[Many Utah charter-school teachers aren't 'qualified' -- or sticking around]]> Tue, 13 Oct 2015 12:15:04 MST <![CDATA[Utah school paying $50K to replace mascot that replaced Rebels]]> Tue, 13 Oct 2015 08:39:53 MST <![CDATA[Feds coming to Utah college to investigate handling of reported sexual assault]]> Fri, 09 Oct 2015 12:03:06 MST <![CDATA[As Mormon missionary wave returns, enrollment up at Utah colleges]]> Sat, 10 Oct 2015 07:41:24 MST <![CDATA[Preschool paying off for Goldman Sachs and Utah kids, according to United Way]]> Fri, 09 Oct 2015 19:02:22 MST <![CDATA[USU Eastern counselor put on leave after being accused of hindering sexual assault investigation]]> Sat, 03 Oct 2015 15:08:23 MST <![CDATA[Reward money, sanctions on the line for 26 Utah schools in new 'turnaround' program]]> Sat, 03 Oct 2015 11:16:51 MST <![CDATA[Profs say teaching isn't a moneymaker as Utah lawmakers question college salaries]]> Thu, 01 Oct 2015 17:48:46 MST <![CDATA[Utah identifies highest- and lowest-performing Title 1 schools]]> Thu, 01 Oct 2015 16:06:15 MST <![CDATA[Utah college apologizes after students were told to erase anti-abortion messages]]> Thu, 01 Oct 2015 07:48:13 MST <![CDATA[2 Utah schools awarded Blue Ribbon from U.S. Department of Education]]> Wed, 30 Sep 2015 19:33:17 MST <![CDATA[University of Utah launches interactive site on history of suicide]]> Sun, 04 Oct 2015 17:10:54 MST <![CDATA[University of Utah re-opens home-ec dorm with focus on 'social responsibility']]> Tue, 29 Sep 2015 12:49:59 MST <![CDATA[Utah school's 'Pocahontas' parade float has some calling for cultural education]]> Tue, 29 Sep 2015 16:46:21 MST <![CDATA[School choir performance canceled after complaints about Utah event's political agenda]]> Sun, 27 Sep 2015 21:13:05 MST <![CDATA[Westminster's new leader is a 34-year fixture at the school]]> Sat, 26 Sep 2015 22:18:12 MST <![CDATA[Former Utah Gov. Olene Walker accepts lifetime achievement award from YWCA]]> Sat, 26 Sep 2015 00:18:43 MST <![CDATA[USU student council bans alcohol from 2 frats in wake of new rape claim]]> Fri, 25 Sep 2015 13:27:08 MST <![CDATA[Elementary students discuss crime and punishment with Utah's first black female judge]]> Thu, 24 Sep 2015 21:11:49 MST <![CDATA[Audit finds Office of Education's motor pool led to waste]]> Wed, 23 Sep 2015 11:20:01 MST <![CDATA[Utah schools going after bugs the old-fashioned way to cut down on chemical killers]]> Tue, 22 Sep 2015 14:12:52 MST <![CDATA[As classrooms overflow, Davis district asks for $298M for 3 new schools]]> Tue, 22 Sep 2015 09:03:34 MST <![CDATA[Parents, teachers wonder: Are massive data on Utah schools helping education?]]> Mon, 21 Sep 2015 15:56:44 MST <![CDATA[Utah's National Merit Scholarship semifinalists announced]]> Mon, 21 Sep 2015 19:58:17 MST <![CDATA[American Fork teacher is awarded Utah's top honor for her profession]]> Sun, 20 Sep 2015 11:42:19 MST <![CDATA[With 3 sex-assault investigations underway, Utah colleges consider new ways to prevent rape]]> Sun, 20 Sep 2015 11:42:19 MST <![CDATA[Utah university settles free-speech suit with former students]]> Fri, 18 Sep 2015 08:35:22 MST <![CDATA[American Indian student at Utah's Arrowhead Elementary told to cut his Mohawk or leave]]> Thu, 17 Sep 2015 12:52:06 MST <![CDATA[From essays to employment: Utah college awarded for jobs-focused arts, humanities courses]]> Wed, 16 Sep 2015 13:44:43 MST <![CDATA[List: New grades for Wasatch Front high schools]]> Tue, 15 Sep 2015 15:13:17 MST <![CDATA[Three report cards show improvements at Utah public schools]]> Tue, 15 Sep 2015 16:55:02 MST <![CDATA[Utah's open-enrollment law allows for 'white flight' from troubled schools, some parents say]]> Sun, 13 Sep 2015 18:01:11 MST <![CDATA[Poll: Utahns want to spend more on schools -- a lot more]]> Fri, 11 Sep 2015 15:11:03 MST <![CDATA[As Utah suicide rates climb, experts tell educators to watch for signs of despair in children]]> Fri, 11 Sep 2015 13:03:47 MST <![CDATA[Utah company's 'painfully offensive' books pulled from Minneapolis schools]]> Sat, 12 Sep 2015 00:35:14 MST <![CDATA[With new focus on support and connection, Utah's Westminster named a top school for veterans]]> Thu, 10 Sep 2015 07:56:48 MST <![CDATA[In the shadow of shiny science and business buildings, Utah's arts and humanities students await campus upgrades]]> Wed, 09 Sep 2015 10:00:28 MST <![CDATA[U. study: The human urge to couple off and men's desire for young mates came from the same place -- Grandma]]> Tue, 08 Sep 2015 07:34:25 MST <![CDATA[Utah high schoolers can start building planes under new program]]> Fri, 04 Sep 2015 22:12:23 MST <![CDATA[BYU health plan failing to cover contraception could prove costly for students at tax time]]> Fri, 04 Sep 2015 17:11:39 MST <![CDATA[Utah spends less on children than it did before Great Recession]]> Fri, 04 Sep 2015 12:45:39 MST <![CDATA[Rain, flooding damage Weber State University theater]]> Fri, 04 Sep 2015 09:56:52 MST <![CDATA[SAGE tests: Utah charters among the state's best- and worst-performing schools]]> Thu, 03 Sep 2015 07:58:47 MST <![CDATA[SAGE scores improve throughout Utah, with biggest gains in high school math]]> Mon, 31 Aug 2015 09:07:34 MST <![CDATA[SAGE scores: Top and bottom schools by subject]]> Mon, 31 Aug 2015 07:49:46 MST <![CDATA[Salt Lake City schools boss plans to resign next year]]> Sat, 29 Aug 2015 17:29:10 MST <![CDATA[Utah homeowners could see charter school funding on property tax notices]]> Fri, 28 Aug 2015 07:45:38 MST <![CDATA[With $6.4 million grant, U. to investigate link between heart defects, poor school grades]]> Thu, 27 Aug 2015 11:00:55 MST <![CDATA[Study: 1 in 4 homeless vets was discharged for alcoholism, other misconduct]]> Thu, 27 Aug 2015 07:45:15 MST <![CDATA[Utah students drop from top spot in overall ACT scores]]> Wed, 26 Aug 2015 14:51:52 MST