Aggieville: USU Sports

USU men’s basketball: McEwen, Moore honored by conference media

First Published      Last Updated Mar 05 2017 01:36 pm

Utah State freshman point guard Koby McEwen has been voted freshman of the year in the Mountain West Conference by members of the media covering the conference. Senior forward Jalen Moore garnered second-team all-conference honors. McEwen also landed a spot on the all-conference third team.

The Mountain West coaches all-conference selections and end of season awards will be announced on Tuesday, but the media's selections were revealed on Sunday (full list below).

McEwen, a 6-foot-4 graduate of Wasatch Academy and the Aggies' second-leading scorer (15.4 points per game during conference play), ranked 12th in the conference in scoring, eighth in assists (3.0 per game), third in 3-point shooting percentage (42.5 percent) and ninth in 3-point field goals made (2.1 per game) in Mountain West games.

Moore, a 6-foot-9 small forward, ranked among the top 10 in scoring (seventh, 16.5 ppg), field goal percentage (ninth, 44.7 percent), free throw percentage (seventh, 81.5 percent), 3-point shooting percentage (second, 42.6 percent) and 3-pointers per game (seventh, 2.2) in Mountain West games.

Colorado State senior guard Gian Clavell earned player of the year and first-team all-conference honors. His teammate and senior forward Emmanuel Omogbo joined him on the first team along with Nevada senior guard Marcus Marshall and sophomore forward Cameron Oliver as well as San Jose State's sophomore forward Brandon Clarke.

Colorado State head coach Larry Eustachy won coach of the year honors, while voters selected Nevada's Marshall as newcomer of the year and Oliver as defensive player of the year. Wyoming guard Justin James won sixth man of the year voting.

Every Mountain West market was represented in all-conference voting. In markets where more than one outlet covers a team closely, reporters from competing publications put together a joint ballot.

Voters ranked their top 15 players for first-, second- and third-team All-MW with their player of the year pick receiving 15 points and the last man on the third-team receiving one point.

1st Team

Gian Clavell, Colorado State, Sr. – 154

Marcus Marshall, Nevada, Sr. – 147

Emmanuel Omogbo, Colorado State, Sr. – 132

Brandon Clarke, San Jose State, So. – 129

Cameron Oliver, Nevada, So. – 118

2nd Team

Chandler Hutchinson, Boise State, Jr. – 113

» Next page... 2 3 Single page